The DAE Trilogy

Ashwani Saith*

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Chapter/Conference proceedingChapterAcademic


Over its lifetime of fifty eight years, the DAE ship had just four captains at the wheel: Dick Stone from 1945 till 1955, followed by the three 15-year terms of Brian Reddaway (1955–1970), Wynne Godley (1970–1985), and David Newbery (1988–2003). The DAE journey is best traced through the course followed during each period, the route strongly influenced by the respective helmsmen. In orientation and substance, the work of the DAE was shaped by their research predilections, intellectual imaginations and idiosyncrasies, by their styles of institutional leadership, and by their ideological stance both in terms of national politics as well as the disciplinary framing of economics. Each period is thus stamped by a distinctive character, with significant shifts in direction, balance, and flavour at each switch point. The purposive commentary in this chapter provides the necessary backdrop for the subsequent unfolding of the traumatic episodes comprising the DAE Trilogy: first, the closure of the Cambridge Economic Policy Group; then, the termination of the Cambridge Growth Project; and, finally, the unusual and unorthodox University Review of the DAE.

Original languageEnglish
Title of host publication Cambridge Economics in the Post-Keynesian Era
Subtitle of host publicationThe Eclipse of Heterodox Traditions
Number of pages24
Publication statusPublished - 2022

Publication series

SeriesPalgrave Studies in the History of Economic Thought

Bibliographical note

Publisher Copyright:
© 2022, The Author(s), under exclusive license to Springer Nature Switzerland AG.


Dive into the research topics of 'The DAE Trilogy'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this