Unusual thymoma subtypes

Research output: Contribution to journalReview articleAcademicpeer-review

1 Citation (Scopus)


Thymomas are neoplastic proliferations of the epithelial cells of the thymus which are variably admixed with a non-neoplastic lymphoid component. Five common subtypes of thymoma are recognized in the current WHO classification. In addition to these five subtypes, three distinct unusual thymomas are currently listed as specific entities in the WHO scheme. These three subtypes, micronodular thymoma with lymphoid stroma, metaplastic thymoma and lipofibroadenoma, and their differential diagnostic consideration form the subject of this review. In addition, unusual variants of common thymomas are discussed.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)105-113
Number of pages9
JournalDiagnostic Histopathology
Issue number2
Publication statusPublished - Feb 2023

Bibliographical note

Publisher Copyright:
© 2022


Dive into the research topics of 'Unusual thymoma subtypes'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this